Teaser Tuesday: October 21

greenbanner

teasertuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly book meme originally featured at Should Be Reading. To participate, just open the book you are currently reading to a random page, and choose two ‘teaser’ sentences from somewhere on that page. (no spoilers!)

Again, apologies for last week. Alas, the fruits of my labour at work were blossomed as my team and I pulled off our company’s biggest event of the year. Needless to say, we stayed up until 10pm Tuesday night, and it took me all weekend to recuperate from the craziness. The good news is that I sunk my teeth into this pleasant read. Another non-fiction account, seemingly similar to Bill Bryson’s One Summer: America 1927 ,which I enjoyed tremendously. This one doesn’t have as flawless and engaging of a narrative but I am just at the beginning so who knows.

danubia

“Through cunning, dimness, luck and brilliance the Habsburgs had an extraordinary long run. All empires are in some measure accidental, but theirs was particularly so, as sexual failure, madness or death in battle tipped a great pile of kingdoms, dukedoms and assorted marches and countries into their laps.” (1)

Any good non-fiction books that you would recommend? Really starting to enjoy these!

3 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: October 21

  1. Interesting that your first sentence mentioned the Habsburgs. One of the books I’m reading at the moment is “Elisabeth: The Reluctant Empress” [Elisabeth: Kaiserin Wider Willen] by Brigitte Hamann. Not everyone’s cup of tea, I suppose, but I find her to be one of the most facinating women of history.
    “There were only a few women in Europe who could keep up with the English hunts. Elisabeth was determined to be best, and she achieved her ambition, becoming extolled as the ‘Queen Riding to Hounds’.”

  2. That actually sounds super cool! I have been taken with non-fiction books the past couple of weeks. I guess that’s all those History lectures I sat in on! I love fiction, but sometimes it’s nice to actually learn about someone real for a change.

    It’s great to read up on favourite characters from the past. I find I learn a lot about the era itself just by reading about an individual!

Leave a Reply

