Book Review: The Death Cure by James Dashner

greenbanner

star1    star1     star1     star1

image

Published: 2011

I had no idea what to expect from the series after I had read the second book, The Scorch Trials. There seemed to have been a pattern in the first two books, with them facing new and more gruelling challenges that WICKED, an organisation trying to find a cure for the Flare (a disease that has destroyed much of man-kind and threatens to completely annihilate the population), set out for them. I enjoyed the ride but I was a bit worried that the third book would be just as predictable. And I was left thinking, ‘will they finally find the cure that they have been looking for all along’?

James Dashner has left me pleasantly surprised, when I found out that the novel would not take the predicable pattern of the first two books. I won’t lie though, a lot more happens in a short amount of time and some of it’s pretty brutal (probably Thomas’ biggest tests). The book did feel a bit rushed to me. A lot does happen, and the series does come to a close at the end of this book but I think it would have been better if the series progressed at the pace it had in the first two books, maybe split the last book into two and give more detail.

In terms of plot, the story definitely changed. We are introduced to some new and important characters, but Dashner makes sure not to exclude the reader by also making characters the reader would already know play a significant role in the ending. As for the ending, I am not going to reveal it, but I was pleasantly surprised. After the whole ride I was pleased with how the series concluded.

The diction and prose mimics the previous two books. In my opinion, it’s not a Nobel Peace Prize for Literature contender, but it was a super easy and fun book to read on vacation. I don’t think Dashner brings about a new theme in the dystopian genre, but I can appreciate the ride that he took me on. If there is one other criticism that I have for this book is for the characters development of Thomas. I was a little disappointed in his lack of growth, I don’t consider him deciding between Theresa and Brenda as character growth. Also, I was a little bit disappointed with him the in café scene, when he stays behind despite his friends telling him to go, and then gets caught by the Red Guard. It not only seems insanely stupid but also completely out of his character. Overall, I must say I was quite pleased with how the series ended and enjoyed the book, although not as much as the previous two.

Did you finish the series? What were your thoughts on the ending of the book?

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Death Cure by James Dashner

  1. I’ve had the first 2 books in this series on my Nook for quite a while and just haven’t gotten to them yet. Was hoping to finish them both before the next movie.

  2. I finished the series but it wasn’t memorable. Once they escaped the maze I lost interest as it didn’t seem to hold as a unique dystopian after that point–it just seemed like it was trying too hard.

    • You know what, after reading what you said I have to say that I agree with you. While reading the book I was curious to know how it will end and get the answers but that excitement element that I had in the first two books was missing!

Leave a Reply

