Book Review: The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

greenbanner

star1     star1     star1     star1     star

DSC_0031

Published: 2011

So I am going absolutely gaga over this series and I am not going to lie, immediately after reading this book I had to physically pull myself from ordering the remaining books in the series from the Amazon page. Yes, I think the last time I got such a thrill from reading a book was from the thriller Gone Girl that I read last summer. It’s definitely a different type of thriller with Gone Girl, but both leave me hanging after every chapter and after the ride was done I was left astounded and a little empty. What was I going to do for the rest of my life without that book in my life?

So, just a quick like synopsis here, the Maze Runner survivors are back, this time facing even more gruelling and life-threatening tasks than the ones in the Maze. Similar to the first book, the scorch trials that they must endure not only tests their personal mental and physical strength but also tests their relationships. And let me tell you, there are going to be some shockers in there!

Maybe because the reader has the ability to see into Thomas’ thoughts, but I have to say I prefer his character in the book than in the film. He seemed very distant, unlikeable and acted too much like a stock hero character, but in the book I feel like we get a better sense of his personality and his objectives. I can also appreciate the fact that he’s not perfect.

I have to say that in the thriller/dystopian genre, I am not sure I have read something as thrilling. I much prefer this to the Hunger Games actually, and I can guarantee that once you start you will not be able to put it down until you have read the final word in the book.

Having said that, it’s no C.S Lewis or Tolstoy, meaning that although the diction encapsulates it’s readers it’s far from poetic or beautiful. There are no hidden metaphors or memorable/witty quotes that summarize some aspect of life. I definitely have to say that this book is a very entertaining and pleasant read, but I don’t think you will find any lingering after thoughts (aside from “wow, what a thrill” or “I need to know what happens”). I suppose that is why I give it a 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Have you started the Maze Runner series? What are your thoughts so far?

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

  1. I liked the Maze Runner until the very end in the first book. When it wad revealed what the maze really was then the series just drifted into another government-dystopian series. The Scorch Trials waxed strange instead of enthralling. I’m glad it works for you. I didn’t get that excited about Hunger Games either.

    • Yeah, I can definitely see that if you don’t like The Hunger Games or dystopian fiction that much you would not like this series! The plot isn’t that riveting and all the main characters are these great heroes and make perfect decisions, which is something that I can ignore but does bother me a little bit! Definitely not for everyone though 🙂

Leave a Reply

