Teaser Tuesday: March 31

greenbanner

teasertuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly book meme originally featured at Should Be Reading. To participate, just open the book you are currently reading to a random page, and choose two ‘teaser’ sentences from somewhere on that page. (no spoilers!)

This next week or so I will be reading a hefty biography of Empress Dowager Cixi by Jung Chang. I thought of giving myself a little extra time to read this book because this Easter weekend I will be heading down to do some skiing for about four days. Woot woot! I am actually really excited about this book, and I have been looking forward to reading it mostly because I am interested in learning about Chinese history. I know so little about that ancient part of the world it’s quite embarrassing, and have always wanted to discover a little more about it. So I am excited to get started!

jungchang

“Prostrating himself before her, the prince talked for an half and hour. An irate Cixi told him off: ‘With the border situation like this, you are talking about birthday presents! It shouldn’t be on the agenda at such a time; why are you bothering me with this business?'” (163)

What are you reading this Tuesday? Share your teasers with me!

3 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: March 31

  1. You’re not the only one; my knowledge about Chinese history is almost non-existent. This one sounds like an interesting read! I hope you enjoy your skiing trip! 😀

  2. I read this last summer; my knowledge of Chinese history is really poor, but I didn’t feel lost at all while reading this and it’s really interesting! I also went on to read one of her other books, Wild Swans, which I also recommend 🙂 Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

