Teaser Tuesday: March 17

greenbanner

teasertuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly book meme originally featured at Should Be Reading. To participate, just open the book you are currently reading to a random page, and choose two ‘teaser’ sentences from somewhere on that page. (no spoilers!)

thesilkworm

“And now, with all his experience of death and mutilation, Strike had to fight down the urge to vomit in the almost suffocating mingled stenches of chemical and corpse…Slowly and carefully, determined not to slip and fall even though he was desperate to regain fresh, clean, rain-washed air, Strike proceeded back down the tarnished stairs to wait for the police in the street.” (160)

What are you reading this week?

11 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: March 17

  1. This teaser definitely makes me want to pick up The Silkworm right away, even though it does describe a terrible scene! I’ve been doubting whether to pick up this sequel, as I didn’t like The Cuckoo’s Calling as much as I would have initially thought… But it sounds like it’s worth picking up anyway.

    Here’s my TT. 🙂

      • I remember feeling The Cuckoo’s Calling was a bit overhyped and it just didn’t live up to my high expectations… Also I had problems with some of the character’s dialogue; some of the expressions they used didn’t seem to fit their character. (Somehow I just couldn’t see Strike saying ‘how do you do?’)

      • Yeah, that probably helped a lot as well… I will still read The Silkworm at some point, and maybe I will do a The Cuckoo’s Calling reread before so I can see if I like it better the second time.

  2. Reading The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton at the moment – [The Silkworm is sitting on my ‘to read’ shelf.]
    ‘The funeral is supposed to be a quiet affair, for the deceased had no friends. But words are water in Amsterdam, they flood your ears and set the rot, and the church’s east corner is crowded.’

Leave a Reply

