“The Seven Deadly Sins of Reading” Tag

Wow, I never seized to be amazed when I get nominated for these things. Especially from someone that I look up to! Thank you so much to The Happy Typewriter for tagging me for this book questionnaire. It’s these things that really make me feel like a part of the WordPress community. Here I go!

Greed

Defined as: An intense and selfish desire for something.

What is your most expensive book?

I’d have to say that probably my German textbook for university cost me nearly $250. As for books that I read for fun, I ‘d have to say my special edition of The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.

Wrath

Defined as: Extreme anger.

What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

Charles Dickens. That man drove me up the wall with Great Expectations. I actually feel wrathful towards that book to this day and thus have not read it to this day. I loved his The Tale of Two Cities and Hard Times though, so it goes! Real hit or miss.

Gluttony

Defined as: Intense over-indulgence.

What book have you devoured over and over with no shame?

I actually don’t re-read books very often. The list of books that I want to read just grows too quickly. I’d have to say The Picture of Dorian Gray. Real fun to re-read. I can also see myself re-reading Slaughterhouse 5 shamelessly and always feel entertained. Oh, I don’t even count the Harry Potter series, as that is a given 😛

Sloth

Defined as: a reluctance to work or make an effort.

What book have you neglected to read due to laziness?

Hmm, for this one I will have to say The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton. I started reading it and got about 100 pages in and then the motivation to keep going just dropped to dangerous levels. It’s still sitting on my shelf. It’s a big book too so it always catches my eye when I look at my book shelf. #bookguilt

Pride

Defined as: satisfaction derived from one’s own achievements or from qualities or possessions that are widely admired.

What book do you talk about most in order to sound like an intellectual reader?

Blimey this is a tough one, I’d have to say Emile Zola Ladie’s Paradise is great for sounding like you know your stuff about 19th century Paris or if I want to whip out my architecture in 19th century Europe prowess there is nothing like quoting some good old Fin-de-Siecle Vienna by Carl E.Schorske 😀

Lust

Defined as: a strong sexual desire.

What attributes do you find attractive in male characters?

I guess I always gravitate toward the intelligent, charming and witty male characters. There are aspects of Henry from The Picture of Dorian Gray that I really admire, his social prowess/charm/wit I suppose. Then I also like intelligent/practical characters like Mikael Blomkvist from the Millennium series.

Envy

Defined as: a feeling of discontented or resentful longing aroused by someone else’s possessions, qualities, or luck.

What book would you most like to receive as a gift?

I’d have to say the Amazon’s Collector’s edition of The Tales of Beedle the Bard.

I’ve really enjoyed this tag! I’m really interested to read the following amazing bloggers responses:

1. Yvo @ It’s All About Books

2. Emma @ bluchickenninja

3. Karen @ One More Page

4. Eva @ The Paperback Princess

5. The Bookish God

2 thoughts on ““The Seven Deadly Sins of Reading” Tag

Leave a Reply

