Book Review: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

greenbanner

star1     star1     star1     star1     star1

the-maze-runner

Published: 2010

I am ashamed to admit that I have initially watched the movie version of The Maze Runner, and only decided to read the book after really enjoying the movie. I don’t remember the last time I have done this actually; saw the movie first and then read the book. But, surprisingly, I still managed to really enjoy the book. So much so that I read it a in whirlwind, and couldn’t put it down.

One of the reasons why I was able to enjoy the book despite having watched the film, is that there were a lot of differences in the plot. From the very first chapter, you get the sense that this journey will be slightly different to the movie. I will just give you one example as I don’t want to give too much away. In the film, the characters remember their name “a few days after arriving” but in the book they know their name right away. It may appear as a slight difference, but when you add up all the small difference you do get a different story. The ending is the same, but the journey was much different. That is most likely why I still managed to enjoy it.

I must admit that the characters were a little bit ruined for me. Many of the characters were actually quite different to how the movie perceived them. Particularly Thomas, Alby, Gally and even Newt. The main Creator’s lady was supposed to have dark hair but in the movie she is blonde. Even the Grievers were described a bit different in the book too. Such small differences I know don’t really impact the plot, but they still bug me a little bit. Since I saw the movie first unfortunately, it was really difficult for me to override the character description in the book, as I found myself depending on the movie characters when imagining the book’s plot.

Otherwise, I am really struggling to find any fault with this book. I think the plot is well written, the characters are relatable and the mission that they are on slightly terrifying yet very intriguing.

Verdict: Definite must read for any post-apocalyptic or even dystopian enthusiasts. If you like the Hunger Games, I definitely recommend this book. I would even venture and say that this book is better than the Hunger Games!

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed The Maze Runner! I read it myself last year and I didn’t like it as much as I would have wanted… I had such high expectations that I was actually disappointed with some parts of the book. I remember finding the slang they used actually really annoying… I probably should do a reread soon though as I read this one when I still didn’t have that much experience reading YA fantasy. Plus, I own a copy of the sequels and I still haven’t read those…

  2. I borrowed this book from the library, but ran out time and had to return it before I had the chance to read it. I liked the Hunger Games type premise and it looked like it had lots of action.

  3. Oh no! You had to return it before you had finished it! I hope that you had renewed it? That would have driven me mad had I not known the ending. It also reminded me of the Hunger Games, maybe just minus the love story?

    • Luckily, I had only read a few pages out of curiousity, so I wasn’t too deep into the story. I will try to get the book back again. Do you think you like the movie or the book better?

      • Good question, I think I got into it a little bit more in the review but a synopsis of my view would be that I like them both. The premise of the movie and book are the same but I found the journey to be quite different. I learned to like the main character more in the book because I was able to dip into his thoughts which is not possible in a film. Then again, I probably would not have picked up the book had I not seen the movie!

Leave a Reply

