Weekly Update and Book Haul

greenbanner

I have recently went on a little book haul on Amazon (again! It is my weakness!), as they had a 3 books for 10 pounds deal. I can’t say no to that. So below you will find the books I hope to get through over the next couple of months.

Slide1

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

  • I’ve recently seen the movie and really enjoyed it. The story struck me as being even better written down than done in movie form, plus this way I don’t have to wait for the second movie to come out in September 😉

Slaughterhouse 5 by Kurt Vonnegut

  • If you have been following my blog for a bit you will know that I have been meaning to give this book a read for a while now, but just never got around to buying it. Well I made the commitment finally and can’t wait to give this a read!

The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (aka JK Rowling)

  • I really enjoyed The Cuckoo’s Calling, and this book carried on with the same main character, Strike, trying to solve yet another puzzling murder case. Again, I can’t wait to jump in!

Empress Dowager Cixi by Jung Chang

  • Unlike the previous books listed, this is a non-fiction book I came across really just by chance. I think my boyfriend and I were discussing and wondering if the dominance of men in history is mostly just a Western influence or whether it was worldwide. This book is about a Chinese Empress who the author claims to be the most important woman in Chinese history. So excited!

The Memory Book by Rowan Coleman

  • I kept seeing this book everywhere, and it has gotten many positive reviews online so I thought I would give it a go

Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them?

4 thoughts on “Weekly Update and Book Haul

  1. I have the first two Maze Runner books on my Nook, but haven’t gotten to them yet. Just saw the movie and really liked it. Didn’t know the second movie came out this year, so I need to read both before then. Thanks for the heads up!

    • That’s awesome, I was worried I was one of the only people that saw the movie first and since then were inspired to read the book. I normally try and read the book prior to the movie so I don’t get the director’s biases. To be fair you still do have some time, as the second movie is not due to be released until September!

Leave a Reply

