Wednesday Wondering: Reading Challenge

greenbanner

Slide1

First off, Happy New Years to all my fellow bookworms! I have been absent for a couple weeks now, with the exception of the one book review posted by my significant other, and I do apologize for that but I was on holiday in other countries so it was challenging to get wifi for more than 10 minutes at a time to actually write something proper. But hey, New Year, New Me right!?

IMG_4204

My winter vacation skiing!

For this Wednesday wondering I would like to discuss Reading Challenges. There are probably hundreds of book challenges out there, from banned books, to non-fiction, to a set amount per year, etc. I have always been hesitant to join them mostly because I was worried that it would hamper my love of reading, and turn it into homework rather than enjoyment. I also find that some that have really high volume of books to read in a short amount of time sometimes force me to choose shorter books in an attempt to keep up. As you might have noticed from my past book reviews, most of my books are within a 300-600 page range makes challenges with huge number of books even more daunting. I don’t want to be choosing books based on how many pages they have and turn down better, fatter ones. I don’t like to discriminate based on size (tehehe).

No book discrimination here.

No book discrimination here.

But I have been unacceptably absent and my books read have declined to a slow trickle which in my eyes in not acceptable. I have decided to create my own personal challenge instead of joining an existing one. Below are the criteria I have decided to focus on.

List

The books that I have chosen are as follows:

Slide1Slide1

I am really excited to bite into this challenge. I never really thought I would ever do a challenge but this year I have decided to try something new.

How do you feel about challenges? Are you frequently an active participant?

7 thoughts on “Wednesday Wondering: Reading Challenge

  1. Awesome choices. Wuthering Heights is a really great book, but it’s challenging to get through in places. I hope you like it. And I’ve never read Eragon either — I’ll be interested to see what you think!
    Happy new year. πŸ™‚

  2. Happy new year! I love that you have created your own challenge. I was going to do the same, but somehow I signed up for everything anyway … I haven’t read either Wuthering Heights or Dorian Gray, so I look forward to your reviews. Also, very curious about Eragon. Good luck!

    • Happy New Year to you too! Thank you so much for the compliment, I think that it’s great that you can follow lots of reading challenges. I just struggle getting access to certain books, and so pre-determined challenges can be hard to adhere to for me.

      I highly recommend reading Dorian Gray, it’s so well written! I am likewise curious about Eragon, I have heard good things! Thanks for you thoughtful comment btw πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

