Teaser Tuesday: December 16

greenbanner

teasertuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly book meme originally featured at Should Be Reading. To participate, just open the book you are currently reading to a random page, and choose two ‘teaser’ sentences from somewhere on that page. (no spoilers!)

i am nearly finished A Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling, but have also started The Song of Achilles. I did just start reading it and so far it’s managed to capture my attention. I would write more but I feel awfully and truly ill today. Enjoy though:

Achilles

“I saw then how I had changed. I did not mind any more, that I lost when we raced and I lost when swam out to the rocks and I lost when we tossed spears or skipped stones. For who can be ashamed to lose to such beauty? It was enough to watch him win, to see the soles of his feet flashing as they kicked up sand, or the rise and fall of his shoulders as he pulled through the salt. It was enough.”

PS- How do you feel about this new wordpress layout? Does anyone know where the underline is?? #frustrated and #sick

5 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: December 16

  1. Oh, BTW, currently reading the second (by Maria Dzielska) of two biographies of Hypatia of Alexandria.
    ‘But Hypatia and her circle had no cause to complain about Bishop Theophilus.’
    ‘Cyril’s very election as Theophilus’ successor caused unrest in Alexandria and provoke contention between two ecclesiastical parties.’

Leave a Reply

