Teaser Tuesday: September 23

greenbanner

teasertuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly book meme originally featured at Should Be Reading. To participate, just open the book you are currently reading to a random page, and choose two ‘teaser’ sentences from somewhere on that page. (no spoilers!)

I have just started reading this book and I am already hooked. It’s got a lot of unique names, characters and settings which is refreshing for me. And for the first time in three weeks I am reading a novel not about immigration\culture-shock. Not that immigration is bad, but it’s a nice change for me.

burial rites

“In their eyes I am already a dead woman, destined for the grave. My arms are tethered in front of me. As we ride this awful parade, the irons pinch my flesh until it bloodies in front of my eyes. I have come to expect harm now.” (35)

Have you read this book already? Or have you read a book by a Scandinavian author recently?

12 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: September 23

  1. I’ve seen this book being mentioned a few times before and the story intrigues me. I can’t wait to find out your thoughts on this one. 🙂 I should read more Scandinavian authors by the way…

      • Every time I read something of a Scandinavian author, I want to learn a Scandinavian language… I tried Swedish before, but came no further than the basic ‘hi, how are you?’. And even though one of my best friends is Finnish, the language seems almost impossibly difficult to learn.

      • I have a friend who just randomly decided to take a Swedish class one semester and ended up doing a Minor in Swedish and even did her year abroad in Uppsala! Maybe try signing up for a beginners course? I find it so hard to get motivated on my own to do the necessary exercise to actually get better when learning a new language!

      • It might be an option to sign up for a course… Although I’m trying to keep up with my Portuguese, German and French as well, so my head might explode if I add another language to the mix hehe.

      • My German knowledge is mostly passive and only high school level… At Dutch high schools both English, German and French are obligatory. 😉 (I had 7! languages during my high school years myself…)

      • Maths, Physics, Quimics, Management&Organization… History, Geography, Biology during a few years as well. A lot of subjects for a high school. xD

Leave a Reply

