August Update

green_line_faded_with_leaf_smaller

Firstly, I would like to apologize for my short, unintentional hiatus from my blog. To be fair, I have not forgotten you my fellow bookworms. I have spent the past week reading through the 888 paged book, I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes. So I have been keeping up with my reading goals. I didn’t speed through it like I have been going through the previous books, but that is largely due it’s numerous pages, and as you might tell by my review, rather disappointing plot.

Another reason why this post has been prolonged was because I spent the weekend here:

 geneva

I went to Geneva for the weekend, and we found some time to go hiking in the French Alps. More precisely we went to col de la golese. I had such a lovely time being out there in the wilderness for a little while, and breathing in the fresh mountain air. A little TMI: my bum hurt for days afterward though, got a proper workout!

This weekend was extra special because I got my hands on several new books, meaning that my reading list has changed once again! I brought back I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou, The Hundred-Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini,and  The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson. Really excited to get through such a wide range of genres (although a Swedish pattern seems to be emerging…). Have you read any of these? How did you find them?

More great news; I have reached 100 followers!! I am so pleased that people find this blog at least mildly interesting. I hope that I can continue to provide some insightful reviews for books/novels that interest you.

celebrate

Lastly, I have put together a new page with My Top 10 Books of all time! Check them out, as there might be some surprises. Once again, I can’t wait to read your comments about them!

 

 

16 thoughts on “August Update

  1. I just read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo a few weeks ago and I loved it! And The Kite Runner is an amazing book like the other Khaled Hosseini’s books 🙂

  2. Looks like a pretty spot to spend some time! I’m jealous that you can just spend a weekend in Geneva so casually. I’ve read 3 out of the 4 of them and they are all great! Nothing wrong with a Swedish pattern – there is all kinds of great fiction coming out of Sweden these days. Especially crime fiction.

    • Thanks so much for taking the time to reply! It was definitely a special weekend, I don’t do this very often. Working full time restricts me from taking prolonged vacations so I live for short weekend getaways.

      I am so relieved that my book list sounds promising. I’ve had a couple of bad reads so I am really looking forward to something good! Whose is your favourite Swedish writer?

      • Sometimes those short weekend getaways are the best. Just enough to get you recharged and ready to take on the week! I love getting away for the weekend but it’s not usually somewhere like Geneva. More like Seattle.

        You will like the books you have lined up! I have a soft spot for Stieg Larsson for sure but I think my favourite Swedish writer is Camilla Lackberg. I’m currently waiting for her latest to be translated so I can read it!

  3. Ooh, the French Alps sounds so beautiful and romantic. How are you liking The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo? I’ve seen the movie, but everyone says the book is better (of course). I haven’t read The Kite Runner, but I just got And the Mountains Echoed and hope to read in within the next few weeks.

  4. You’ve got a good reading list there! I’ve just finished The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared, and I thoroughly recommend it. I found it quite funny in parts and there’s lots of dark humour. Plus the main character has led a pretty interesting life!

    • I am so excited to read this book! I have read his most recent novel The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden and absolutely loved it so I was so glad to see that he’s got more works out there already for me to peruse through! I just love his titles as well, so long but cool! Have you read his most recent stuff?

      • No, I haven’t read his new works, but I’m looking forward to reading them now! I think it’s remarkable that much of the humour of his works hasn’t been lost in translation. Glad you liked his newest novel, I’ll definitely check it out!

      • Haha no, I wish! But I’ve done some French translations and so I know it can be really difficult to retain the same meaning in another language, especially when it comes to humour, which is highly subjective and often cultural.

      • I couldn’t agree more! I have done a little bit of French Immersion when I was younger and I remember making English jokes but using French words but learned quickly that it does not have the same effect!

Leave a Reply

