Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

green_line_faded_with_leaf_smaller

star rating     star rating     star rating     star rating

DSC_0010

Published: 2012

What. A. Ride. Indeed.

The adjectives used to describe “Gone Girl” were actually what attracted me to this book.

“The addictive No.1 Bestseller.” “Deviously good.” “Gripping tale and page turner.”

I kept telling myself not to be sucked in by their clever marketing.

Actually, what helped convince me were not these fanciful words, but rather seeing two separate people reading it on the tube. At the very least it’s constant reappearance in my life helped ensure I engrain the title of the novel in my head, as I have a terrible short-term memory.

I am so glad I did.

Gillian Flynn did a spectacular job at giving me one hell of an emotional roller coaster that I can’t recall another book doing in recent memory. I couldn’t put it down. Literally, got off the tube stop at my work and just stood by the vents, underground to finish the chapter before heading into the office. I hated Nick. Then I felt sorry for him. Then I just didn’t understand how anything could possibly turn out. Then when we are revealed a big secret, I can’t contain my shock. Enraged with certain parts of the book I ranted to my boyfriend via email that I despise the male race. He wrote back some reassuring message and my opinion has changed.

The themes that she touches upon surpass the average thriller or detective story. The focus is much more about marital relationships – it’s common errors and downfalls. Loneliness, how people cope with it. The judicial system is very clearly commented on, it’s flimsiness, hastiness to find blame, and the influence of the public mind over it. The modern life is scrutinized in all of its drawbacks. The direct affect of the economic reconstruction – particularly the influence of technology on employment.

To be fair, the ending was a little bit of a disappointment (hence only 4 stars) and a flop to be honest. It’s hard to tell whether or not that was really what I thought or whether I had just become neurotic due to constant exposure to her writing. She really swept me away. I felt myself changing; my emotions fluctuating from page to page. I do feel that the beginning she set herself a high bar, but as things were revealed things got really dark and twisted quite quickly. I wasn’t too pleased with the outcome at all, and near the end I was kind of confused.

 Verdict: An absolute must read. Avoid spoilers at all cost. Read anywhere. Leave yourself at least 24 hours to read. This is a thriller/dark novel, definitely not a friendly, upbeat beach read. BRACE YOURSELF and tell me what you think.

Have you read Gone Girl? What did you think?

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. Oooh just read this last week, delighted to come across a review! It took me a while to get into, but soon I was hooked. So many twists and turns, so clever! As well as the aspects you discussed here I loved how it examined the construction of self and the notion of the ‘cool girl’. The ending was disappointingly flat but it was a very thrilling read! Excellent read 😀

      • I get so excited when I read about other people having the same response to the book that I did! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

        I’m looking forward to seeing how the movie turns out. Though I didn’t realize, what The Paperback Princess said above, that she changed the ending in the movie. Now it’s like we can relive it all over again, not knowing how it’s going to turn out! Excited.

      • WHAT?!? That soon?! That’s amazing! I keep forgetting that Gone Girl isn’t actually brand new, and that it was published 2 years back! I am pretty slow on the band wagon it would seem!

  2. Glad you loved it. I think she almost had to change the ending for film or why bother? The twists are what make this book so great. This is one book to film I will probably see.

  3. Pingback: Teaser Tuesday: Aug 4 | friendlybookworm

Leave a Reply

