The Man Booker Prize 2014 Long-list Announcement

green_line_faded_with_leaf_smaller

I am not one to follow prize lists as closely as I should, but the long-list announcement for the Man Booker Prize 2014 was a bit of a surprise for me. I didn’t recognize a single novel. Where was The Goldfinch?!?!?! In case you were wondering the following books were long-listed:

1. (US)To Rise Again at a Decent Hour-Joshua Ferris
2. (Aus)The Narrow Road to the Deep North- Richard Flanagan
3. (US)We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves- Karen Joy Fowler
4. (US)The Blazing World- Siri Hustvedt
5. (Brit.) – J- Howard Jacobson
6. (Brit.)The Wake- Paul Kingsnorth
7. (Brit.)The Bone Clocks- David Mitchell
8. (Brit.)The Lives of Others- Neel Mukherjee
9. (Brit.)Us- David Nicholls
10. (Ireland)The Dog- Joseph O’Neill
11. (US)Orfeo- Richard Powers
12. (Brit.)How to Be Both- Ali Smith
13. (Ireland)History of the Rain- Niall Williams

 

Does that make me a horrible bookworm? I hope not! After looking at the Amazon reviews for a handful of the selected books I was surprised to find that most got a mere 3 stars and only had a handful of reviewers. I wish some proper explanation was given by the judges as to why they chose the books they did.

Where you surprised with the books? Have you read any of the books on the list?

 

5 thoughts on “The Man Booker Prize 2014 Long-list Announcement

  1. I was really surprised by some of these inclusions! Although I have to admit I’ve only read one of these books. It does seem like some pretty big books were excluded though…

  2. I absolutely adored We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves and would highly recommend it, but I too am surprised at the unfamiliarity of these titles. Usually when this list comes out I’ve either read, or wanted to read, a handful of the selections. This year’s are all new to me.

Leave a Reply

