Teaser Tuesday

green_line_faded_with_leaf_smallerI got this idea from the lovely and brilliant Yvo and I knew right away that I want to start doing this on a regular basis myself. It seems like a spectacular way to engage with the text that I am reading at the same time giving you a teaser of the book that I am reading. Maybe this will help you decide whether or not you want to add it to your TRL. Rules of Teaser Tuesdays are as follows:

teasertuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly book meme originally featured at Should Be Reading. To participate, just open the book you are currently reading to a random page, and choose two ‘teaser’ sentences from somewhere on that page. (no spoilers!)

The book that I am currently ripping through (bad pun sorry) is Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. First off, what an amazing first name of the author. Sometimes I really think I was born in the wrong century. Written in 1931, and true to it’s dystopian nature, it takes place in the far off future where the government monitors every aspect from a human being’s life, literally from fertilization to adulthood, using questionable conditioning techniques to train it’s human population to obey and be part of the crowd. It is the human world as we know it perfected to the most scientific degree.

bravenewword“She looked at Bernard with an expression of rapture, but of rapture in which there was no trace of agitation or excitement—for to be excited is still to be unsatisfied. Hers was the calm ecstasy of achieved consummation, the peace, not of mere vacant satiety and nothingness, but of balanced life, of energies at rest and in equilibrium.” (74)

Are you a fan of dystopian novels?

10 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday

  1. This a great post idea!
    I love Brave New World! Glad you’re enjoying it. I like dystopian fic, though while working in a kids’ bookstore, I did get a little sick of reading it when the YA Dystopian Fad was sweeping every nation. But I think the subgenre in general is one that is meant to provoke thought about the way we live and our perceptions of “good” and “perfect”, which is always a good thing. -Tania

    • Yeah definitely true about it’s goal to get us thinking! I was so happy to be reading this right after I read One Summer: America 1927, because this book is published only 4 years after that and my-oh-my do the themes overlap! One Summer is a non-fiction so it gives you a lot of historic background for this book!

Leave a Reply

