Whas ist dis Denglisch about?

green_line_faded_with_leaf_smallerThis morning my professor from university posted this hilarious article on her Facebook page and I just had to share it with all y’all. I have never heard of Denglisch before, so for those who don’t know it’s basically combining parts of english words with German ones. I have studied German in the past and so I do recognize that there are some similarities in some of the words, like cat is katze or water is wasser. Basically, it’s just a cool idea to enrich the english language, since for most of the words shown in the examples, we simply do not have an equivalent for. Click on the image below to view the link 🙂

denglish

Happy Sunday fun-day fellow people 🙂

6 thoughts on “Whas ist dis Denglisch about?

  1. Thanks for sharing! I love this. I have a book that’s sort of similar, but does it with all sorts of languages. My favourite German word will always be ‘kugelschreiber’, though.

Leave a Reply

